Artemis Racing bows out gracefully

GMR_AC34AugD9_6509

A small glitch in the Umpiring process on Saturday meant the penalty Artemis Racing received in the pre-start wasn't imposed on the team the way it should have been.

Artemis Racing was penalized for not keeping clear as the port tack boat after a gentle collision during pre-start jostling with Luna Rossa Challenge.

"The two on-water Umpires along with the Umpire ashore all agreed on the penalty," said Mike Martin, head of Rules and Umpiring. "Artemis Racing continued heading towards Luna Rossa for nearly four seconds from the time Luna Rossa began tacking. Had Artemis turned away sooner, she could have kept clear and avoided the penalty."

The pre-start penalty should have been issued immediately, but through an error it wasn't imposed until Artemis Racing was nearly at the first turning mark and flying along at high speed. The Umpires watched what was happening and cleared the penalty once Luna Rossa was two boatlengths ahead of Artemis Racing on the first downwind leg.

"This penalty wasn't issued exactly the way that it was supposed to have been," Martin said. "But in the end, the penalty fit what the rule specifies. Artemis Racing gained a controlling position in the pre-start through an action they were penalized for and in accordance with the rules the Umpires didn't clear the penalty until Luna Rossa was restored into the lead."

The Swedish team, down 3-0 in the Semifinal and in a must-win position in Saturday's race, didn't seek redress from race officials, continuing the display of grace and sportsmanship that has been a hallmark of the team's return to the water.